Electronics and Microprocessors

This is one of the four thematic areas in the department(ELECTRICAL AND INFORMATION ENGINEERING) and has several course units offered in the BSc Electrical & Electronic Engineering degree programme. The group aims to strength the teaching of electronic engineering by offering course units in fundamental properties of electronic components and circuits early in the degree programme as well as incorporating computer based tools for analysis and design. These course units are in Physical Electronics, Analogue Electronics, Digital Electronics, and Computer Science disciplines. The senior level course units include the Microprocessor Applications, Linear Integrated Circuits, Applied Electronics, and Computer Architecture. All the course units in this thematic area are regarded as core units in the degree programme and hence compulsory to all students.

It is the aim of the group to promote final year student projects that could be developed into commercial products. In the 2013/14 academic year, the group aims to further develop the following projects that have already been tested in the laboratory at the prototyping stage.

(i).Peter Muendo: An internal combustion engine exhaust gas monitoring system

(ii).James Kiiru: Temperature control unit for tea leaves in the withering stage

(iii).Edward Korir: Tracking Systems for solar panels


Group Research interests:

(i).Digital  Image Processing

(ii).Modelling of Semiconductor Devices



Group Research Students:

Kinyua Wachira: Colour Filter Arrays

Henry Kiragu: Image Enhancement

Felix Owalla: Robust Image Watermarking

Dickson Wambaa: image identifcation using Bayesian techniques

Vincent Adul: Video processing




Group Academic Staff members and teaching assignments:

Prof Elijah Mwangi: Digital Systems, Linear integrated circuits, DSP

Dr George N. Kamucha: Analogue Electronics, Microprocessors

Dr Wilfred N. Mwema, Physical Electronics

Mr Collins Ombura, Electrical Measurements, Applied Electronics

Mr S L Ogaba: Semiconductor Power devices

Headed by: Prof. Elijah M. Mwangi